TALES OF AN ELASTIC HEART

Glowing neon and elastic hearts

And another one bites the dust…

Those were the thoughts that ran through my mind as I thought about the vanity of life. The constant rants of this rat race that sped into the void of nothingness and abject noir.

It was a sad tale of a life gone by, with no farewells or goodbyes. A frantic tear swelled from my left eye, to flow freely over my skin like a tattoo for my soul. And much like what I wrote, there seemed to be no sense, no life nor meaning beyond the deep black hole that had just caved in from the bright blinding super-nova of the life lost.

A black hole it was, trying to pull me in, while I rode dangerously on the shores of its event horizon. Was life worth it? Was the loss tenable? The egregious thought that darkness would win over light cast its long shadow over my soul.

It still did not make sense, much like my words. But still, I felt that the cards dealt in this life were harsher than what our combined cesspool of depravity and sin rightly deserved. Was there any justice for the righteous? It was written that at His Glorious Name, every knee should bow, but never on the neck of another man. We knew that our stony hearts were to be exchanged for those pounds of flesh, but why was it so hard to believe?

I, a loner, alone. With the walls caving in quickly. Pressing me on all corners. Fighting with my essence, an ever dreadful presence. Lowered by loss, conflicted by chaos, riled by the wiles of woe and horrific wonder.

I had run the race, but there was always a twist at the end of the turn, like M. Night Shyamalan, my will fragile like Glass even with a zeal unbent and Unbreakable. Yet though I walk through the valley of the Shadow of death, I would fear no evil, and if I should die before morning breaks, I pray the Lord my soul in the latter day to wake.

Life is want, and desire is vanity. Knowledge is power, yet the wise are weak and orange is the new president. Children die in their mothers’ hands while the fathers ship off to war. Heroes are villains when you read it from the losers’ narrative. Humanity is depravity…

But still in the end, with the last hair on my head and skin to my bones, I still choose to believe that there is a reason for this. To have and to hold, to love and to hope, till faith do us part.

Life is want, and desire is vanity. Humanity is depravity but beyond this grimace of insanity is a blissful eternity.

And now more than ever, I choose happiness and an elastic heart.

One thought on “TALES OF AN ELASTIC HEART

Add yours

  1. believe that there is a reason for this. To have and to hold, to love and to hope, till faith do us part.
    I hope, now more than ever, you fearlessly choose happiness and an elastic heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑